

INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH, SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

FACULTY AWARDS 2004 - 2005

Golden Mustang Award Recipients: David A. Willis Vanessa Beasley

Department of Mechanical Engineering CCPA, Meadows

The Golden Mustangs is an Alumni group, whose members graduated 50 or more years ago. This group has established the Golden Mustang Endowment for the advancement of teaching and learning. The endowment provides an award to support the teaching and curriculum development on the part of the younger faculty members. It has been the practice that this award is given to a junior faculty member who sustains high achievement as both a teacher and scholar. The award provides a \$1000 unrestricted stipend to the recipient.

g e ss hs

Program

2004 - 2006 University Distinguished Teaching Professors Recipients: Jeremy Adams, Dedman College - History Jeffrey Kennington, School of Engineering - EMIS David Mauer, Cox School of Business - Finance Willard Spiegelman, Dedman College – English

The Academy of Distinguished Teachers at Southern Methodist University is an organization consisting of eight recipients of the SMU Distinguished Teaching Professors Award. It serves the academic community through the Center of Teaching Excellence by actively fostering superior teaching and learning through colloquia, workshops, lectures and mentoring. Four faculty are selected each spring to serve two years in the Academy, receiving \$10,000 as part of the award. To be eligible, nominees must be full-time, tenured SMU faculty, have been at SMU for at least five years, be in residence for the two-year Academy membership, show demonstrable excellence in teaching, and show demonstrable commitment to student learning.

Gerald J. Ford Research Fellowship

Recipients: Michael Adler, Dedman College - Anthropology Peter Beasecker, Meadows School of the Arts - Art Thomas Chen, School of Engineering - Electrical Engineering Zhangxin John Chen, Dedman College - Mathematics Sherry L. Smith, Dedman College – History

Ford Research Fellowships are available to current SMU faculty members on a competitive basis. The purpose

Distinguished University Citizen Recipients: Thomas Fomby Joseph Kobylka Caroline Brettell