April 19

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dear Faculty and Staff,

Academic Affairs division as, together, we work toward achieving the goals that fall within our four priority areas through 2025: 1) Academic Excellence, 2) Road to R1: Research and Scholarly/Creative Excellence, 3) 2016 2025 Strategic Plan, and 4) Inclusive Excellence.

If you have suggestions for what we should include in future communications, please <u>submit your ideas</u> <u>through this form</u>. Suggestions received before noon on Tuesday will be reviewed and considered for

newsletters are available here.

Below is a picture of five of the faculty recognized for receiving prestigious national or international recognition this year al

From left: R. Gerald Turner, President; J.C.Chiao, Mary and Richard Templeton Centennial Chair and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the Lyle School of Engineering; Digvijay Boob, Assistant Professor of Operations Research and Engineering Management in the Lyle School of Engineering; MinJun Kim, Robert C. Womack Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering in the Lyle School of Engineering; Carla Reyes, Associate Professor of Law in the Dedman School of Law; Zhen Zhang, Paul Corley Distinguished Chair in Organizational Behavior and Administration and Professor of Management and Organizations in the Cox School of Business; Randall Griffin, University Distinguished P

Call for applications: Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute (DCII) research clusters for 2024 2025

The Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute (DCII) has <u>announced a call for applications for research</u> <u>clusters</u> for the 2024 2025 academic year. Both new and existing research clusters should <u>apply/reapply</u> <u>for designation here</u> by Friday, May 17.

The <u>research cluster program</u> provides a home for informal, collaborative groups of scholars who wish to meet together to discuss and advance shared interdisciplinary interests. The DCII provides space for meetings in Ford Hall, staff assistance to organize cluster meetings and events, and up to \$4,000 in funding to support cluster activities. Clusters should have at least two SMU faculty (tenured, tenure-track or teaching and professional/NTT), staff, and/or graduate student conveners who are responsible for the st also submit an end-of-year

past/current clusters and previous events click here.

Questions about the program or application process should be addressed to Dr. Karisa Cloward, Ruth Collins Altshuler Director of the Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute at <u>kcloward@smu.edu</u>.

Reminder: Report from the SMU Internationalization Steering Committee Townhall

The SMU Internationalization Steering Committee invites members of the SMU Community to a virtual townhall on April 24, from 3:00

results, findings, and recommendations. The <u>draft of the internationalization report is available for review</u> here and the

Research Grant Applications

22, and continue on a rolling basis thereafter.

These awards provide up to \$5,000 per student for dissertation research-related expenses during the summer, including living expenses (if the student does not have a summer stipend from their department), travel to research sites, lodging at research sites, research equipment, technology purchases, software purchases, survey research expenses, etc. For more information, including application materials and instructions, <u>read the message sent from Robin Poston</u>, dean of the Moody School of Graduate and Advanced Studies and associate provost for graduate education.

Questions about the grants can be sent to Dr. Alan Itkin at <u>aitkin@smu.edu</u>.

Simmons School of Education and Human Development professor named Poet Laureate for City of Dallas

Mag Gabbert, clinical assistant professor in the Department of Human-Centered Interdisciplinary Studies in the Simmons School for Education and Human Development was <u>announced as the new Poet</u> <u>Laureate for the City of Dallas</u> by Mayor Eric Johnson on April 10, at City Hall. In her official role as poet laureate Professor Gabbert will undertake various initiatives in partnership with the Dallas Public Library

service in this capacity.

Congratulations to Professor Gabbert on this incredible accomplishment and thank you for your commitment to positive community impact.

Professor in Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences co-authors research in

Santanu Roy, University Distinguished Professor in the Department of Economics at Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences, recently published his collaborative research with Professor Ayca Kaya, <u>Repeated Trading: Transparency and Market Structure</u> <u>American</u> <u>Economic Review</u>. The study focuses on markets where buyers may purchase repeatedly but rarely from the same seller. Their findings indicate that in designing institutional innovations and regulations to improve market transparency, one must follow a nuanced approach that takes market fundamentals such as competition and expectations into account.

The *American Economic Review* is the flagship journal of the American Economic Association and is regarded as one of the field of economics most prestigious journals.

American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) accepts Meadows School of the Arts faculty member into ACLS Postdoctoral Fellowship Program

from the <u>American Council of Learned Societies</u> (ACLS). The <u>ACLS Fellowship Program</u> supports outstanding scholarship in the humanities and interpretive social sciences and is the longest-running program in the ACLS portfolio. The fellowship will support Professor Schmidt as he works on his current <u>The Cultural Production of Displacement: Capitalist Reckonings in 21st Century Tuareg</u>

<u>Music</u>

Lyle School of Engineering research team awarded one-year National Science Foundation (NSF) grant to address Dallas infrastructure inequities

Lyle School of Engineering research team, which includes Principal Investigator Dr. Barbara Minsker, Bobby B. Lyle Endowed Professor of Leadership and Global Entrepreneurship, along with Co-Principal investigators Dr. Janille Smith-Colin, assistant professor, and Dr. Eric Larson, associate professor, have been awarded a one-year, \$145,000

Special issue of research journal released in honor of Dedman College of

A <u>special issue of Computational Chemistry</u> has been dedicated to Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences Department of Chemistry Professor Elfi Kraka in honor of her 70th birthday. The issue contains The topics cover a very

broad area of theoretical chemistry, and they mirror the wide-ranging interests that have been on display

also contains a forward co-authored by Adelia Aquino, Hans Lischka and Gernot Frenking to recognize

Sincerely,

Elizabeth G. Loboa, PhD Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Southern Methodist University https://www.smu.edu/provost